When Non-essential Spending is Essential

The most expensive non essential spend I’ve done in the last month is for my sanity. Aerial silks, up in the air, where I am uncoordinated, ungraceful and at my happiest. It is also one of the most expensive hobbies I have undertaken since my time in Sydney. Back in 2010 on a trip across the states I stopped in Las Vegas and went to see Cirque du Soleil and I was hooked. With not having a clue what my plans would be for the next year it wasn’t until I reached Sydney in late 2011 that I even started venturing into something out of my comfort zone.

I took up pole dancing. I found this a great way to stay active, keep fit and meet some wondeful people. But oh the bruises! After awhile and developing some confidence about my bodies capabilities I went in search of an aerial school and I found one. And I was hooked- or in the world of aerials- I was wrapped. When struggling with visas and work and not having a very solid idea of what I was doing again and not knowing how long I would be in Sydney for my aerial training was very sporadic. I also went from having a school less than 20 mins to us moving to the Northern Beaches being an hour and a half away from my beloved training facility. Hence having the last year off from silks.

Last week it all changed. I’m finally back into the swing of things, back in the air and being tied up in knots. One expense I can justify for some mental wellbeing. The adrenaline rush you get when you nail a move or a drop, the buzz just from the workout endorphins themselves, really I don’t understand why it took me so long to get back up there. Heres to getting back in the saddle!

Leave a Reply

