Waste Not Want Not

In the spirit of not spending money, with a few minor going out set backs, I have made a conscious effort to wear all of my clothes, shoes and jewelry and use all my lotions and potions before buying anything new. Lush cosmetics was my saviour in not having to buy anything but still getting a new scrub. Return five clean tubs and you get a free scrub. Lush’s loyalty program is definitely something I can get on board with. It doesn’t take you forever to accumulate points for a partial reward you didn’t really want in the first place. Lush’s products are something I have used for years. They don’t fix everything but I love the philosophy of not testing on animals, the stance they have taken against Australia’s penalty rates being cut for weekend workers and it’s always great to help the environment – every little helps! I’ve tried all their face scrubs, cleansers, lip scrubs and body powders. In all the years of trialing different  brands of chemicals and quick fixes for my skin natural products always draw me back.

I’m usually a creature of habit when it comes to my face masks, if it ain’t broke don’t fix it, but this is one of the few Lush products I have not used. I love Cupcake and Cosmetic Warrior but I have found this Summer my skin has been especially oily. From the reviews on Lush’s website and from the lovely girls in the shop itself I decided to take this tub home to try out. I’ll give this a go when I have tried the new Frank Glow mask a few more times.

This Lush swap of a mask for empties was a half attempt of rationalising a night out at Circular Quay. Sometimes living in the Northern Beaches you get in this bubble and forget there is more to Sydney. An evening is instantly made more impressive and dramatic when you take the ferry across to Circular Quay at sunset past the Opera House. I had wanted to take himself into the city to try an all you can eat sushi restaurant I had a visited a few times before. I thought this might have been a good way to introduce him to all the various sushi options that can be had. Have you ever been somewhere and thought ‘Hmmm maybe they changed the menu, this is not what I remember’? It can’t have been that long since I was here last right? 3 years, how time flies! Anyway after being seated we decided this is not what we were after and left. Yes we were that couple that walks out, oh gosh the judgmental stares that I’m sure would have happened if people actually took any notice of us. So off to the Opera House we head for a few glasses of wine and a burger to be enjoyed under the glare of screaming seagulls. And then the rain came – ah Sydney, I wouldn’t have you any other way.

Leave a Reply

